Chinese-Forums

Arriving on a tourist visa and converting to a work visa

MBAchina

Hi guys,

I'm getting an ESL teaching job offer in China, but the school wants me to go on a visitor visa and then they will convert it into a work visa once in China. I do not want to do this. Even though I have a degree from the U.S., my passport is from a non-native English speaking country and also I will cover all my expenses to arrive to China, they will just give me a "bonus" at the end of the contract for my return ticket. I am scared of not getting the work visa, pay all this money and then of course I will have to pay for my own return ticket, I believe.

They're saying that it is extremely difficult to get a work visa form the U.S. as I have to send my original degree, and all my original documents to China. I am not reading this anywhere online.

What do you guys think?

What documents do I REALLY need for a work visa?

I'm not up-to-date on everything, but I'm pretty sure you can't do that anymore. You have to get the work visa done in your own country, you can't go into China on a tourist visa and then switch to a work visa without returning home.

It's very shady that they are saying you should come to China on a tourist visa since it doesn't work that way anymore. The other thing is them saying they need your original degree. In the past  (though this was many years ago) when I did a work visa I just had a photocopied version and it was fine. I've never heard of anyone saying they needed an original, though that might be different from before. 

Regardless, it sounds shady. You should come to China on a work visa after all the paperwork has been done. That's the way it works now.

Thanks for your reply!

The Chinese consulate website does say that I need the original documents, but it does not say that I have to send them or that they will send them to China. If there is a consulate in my country, I see no reason to send all my original documents to China.