Chinese-Forums

Studying Spanish in China - how quick?

ouyangjun

Due to my job I'm going to be required to travel to Central and South America more frequently.  I'll still be based out of China, but considering I'll be spending upwards of 40+ days in a given year in Spanish speaking countries I decided to dive into the language.  

A few general comments.  I started studying Chinese when I first moved to China close to a decade ago.  At this point and for many years now I've been fluent in the language.  I can read, write, and speak to anyone about most anything (including work, etc.).  To learn Spanish, I'm using a similar approach that I used for Chinese.  I initially thought since Spanish is similar to my native English that I can learn it and be fluent in 3 months as a lot of the polyglots advertise.  Now I'm not saying it can't be done, but it's going to happen with me.  

My idea of fluent is where I am in Chinese, and I quickly realized that to get to that level of fluency in Spanish it is going to take longer than 3 months.  If drop the standard of what I consider fluent I can probably advertise as such, but since I know what it is like to be really fluent in a foreign language living in the country... I'm not going to lie to myself.  3 months will not happen for me with Spanish.  Learning Spanish is not my only goal and definitely not my main priority... I have many competing priorities.  I'm sure if I could drop everything, move to a Spanish speaking country (or even back to America) and only study Spanish I'd get there a lot quicker.  So for now it's the same approach I used for Chinese.  No shortcuts, just hard work and putting in the hours to understand the grammar and build a large vocabulary.  

I started studying in November, and am through my first textbook "Breaking the Spanish Barrier" book 1 of 3.  Some general comments: