Chinese-Forums

Best Mandarin audio courses?

erduoteng

Hello,

I have been studying Mandarin for around seven years.

I have repeatedly completed several audio courses but find that they all dont get far enough into the language for my needs.

Could anyone recommend some more advanced audio courses? Preferably ones with english translations which dont require the listener to carry around a textbook.

I just want to reach a good level in speaking and listening for making conversation and to translate reasonably advanced english articles for my students.

Thank you for your time. Any suggestions much appreciated.

The courses I have completed so far are as follows:

Rossetta Stone

Pimsleur

Chinese Pod

AllTalk

Book2

DorlingKindersly ( All courses )

Foreign service institute

Living Language

Chinese pod has upper intermediate levels. Some of the older ones included media extracts I think. There must be thousands of podcasts by now. 

If you have covered all these I'd be looking at media broadcasts like, TV, radio podcasts etc

Thanks.  I will try glossika.

I completed chinesepod a while ago but I felt there was too much English used.

The radio talkshow style format gets really annoying after repeated listenings.

I felt the same way about Pimsleur. Too much English and not enough vocabulary.

Ideally I would like to find a course that goes beyond the basics and gets straight to the point ( Chinese vocabulary - English translation - Character by character translation - usage in the context of a sentence ).

Any other suggestions?

• 2 weeks later...

Thankyou. Could anyone suggest some more?

I really want to advance in terms of speaking and listening.

I find using all my travel time listening to mp3 lessons is a good way to get a lot of practise.

Has anyone tried tuttle?

What do you think?

Its a shame Rosetta stone only goes to level 3.

It is a very nice course but they should update it to like level 20.