Chinese-Forums

Learning Medical/Technical Chinese

ZC

I have sort of stumbled backward into a bit of an awkward situation. I am a US student who speaks a very small amount of Mandarin (HSK ~2) taking classes in English in Shanghai. I assumed that all lectures would be in English, but there is a class I am absolutely required to take starting in ~7 months that is only taught in Chinese. The class will cover the use and development of medical technology in a hospital setting. While I have set up an accelerated learning schedule for general Chinese, I do not know of any way to learn the electrical engineering and medical language that I will need. Does anyone know of a good resource or starting point to help me with this? Thanks!

• Like 1

Ask a Chinese classmate for the introductory textbooks used for those topics. Those books tend to systematically explain relevant technical terms and will also serve as a point of comparison for your Chinese level. Being able to read that will be your goal.

That said, even if that is your goal, I don’t recommend skipping right up to it. Continue systematically learning Chinese. Getting to the necessary level in the time you have is full time effort, think 8 hours of Chinese study a day for the next seven months. If you have the finances available, consider a tutoring service that can offer personalized study plans like GoEast. 

Everyday should be a mix of adding new content, reviewing previous content, practicing using the language in the real world with real people, add tons of comprehensible input a la the chairman’s bao or graded readers. Actually, Du Chinese is made by GoEast, though I prefer TCB and Mandarin Companion Graded Readers.

• Like 1
  • Helpful 2

@somethingfunny