Chinese-Forums

Can i get Master and PHD scholarships from the CSC?

Masa

• New Members

Hello everyone,

I am so lucky to get to know this forum,you are providing very good information and useful content;so thank you inadvance for helping me out!

I have a question concerning the CSC system: i am planning to apply for csc to study master degree this year in translation,i need to know after finishing the master degree can i apply again to csc to get another scholarship to study the phd?

• 2 weeks later...

I've been out of the game for a bit, but I'd run this by the university you are attending since they have most of the pull. I was at Renmin University and knew of students that needed to take a year off, which the school handled (just had to pull teeth).

I finished my master's and was encouraged to pursue a PhD (nah), so I'm sure my thesis advisor would have some say in the matter. Most students quickly enter a "love it, or hate it" mentality in their studies at a Chinese University, so you will have an idea if a PhD is worthwhile once you start.

On 2/16/2018 at 1:20 PM, HuayangAcademy said:

I think you cannot apply for two courses in a row you would have to leave China for a year, 

might have changed

No, no, you don't have to leave China. 

1. You can ask your thesis advisor for advice, as Brian US said;

2. There are many scholarship opportunities, from the universities, provinces (Shanghai Government Scholarship). 

Examples: MOFCOM, YES, TWAS, the money is good.

http://scholarship-positions.com/one-year-full-time-masters-degree-scholarships-developing-countries-china/2017/03/21/

My friend got the Shanghai Government Scholarship and started her PhD after her master's degree, there was no need to wait. If you look around you might find better options. 

I am not sure if you would want to do your PhD in China after your master's. If you do like it after you see how things go around here, securing your funding is pretty convenient.