Chinese-Forums

I really need you to help choose where to study in Beijing

Vilew

• New Members

(I don't know if i'm posting in the wrong topic and if so, i'm really sorry ! )
Hi guys ! I'm still a highschool student from Mauritius, so I apologize if my english is broken. So It's been a while since I've decide that I will take a year off after highschool to go in Beijing and learn chinese, at first I was thinking about BLCU since it seems to be the most well known University to learn mandarin as a foreigner but after doing some research on the web and reading a lot of student reviews, I got scared. I've heard nasty stories like corruption in the administration, dirty bathroom and kitchen, not the best courses to learn chinese, in the end I did some more research and got interested in Beijing Foreign Studies University (BFSU) The dorms looked better, the environment seems nicer, but the most recent students reviews i've read about it looks outdated, (the most recent one being like from 5years ago). They were as many bad reviews as good ones on BLCU but the bad ones were the most well written so i'm really conflicted, is it really a good university? After asking some questions in another website, someone recommended me to go to Tsinghua University, someone else told me to come in this forum because it will be easier to find a answer. Are the stories true about BLCU ? Is it really better to go to Tsinghua instead of BLCU or BFSU ? Or are there better University that I wasn't considerating ? I'm even hesitating whether i should go to a University or a private school like Mandarin House or That's Mandarin (I didn't really do research about private school so if you guys could recommend something I would be glad) but I would prefer to study in a place where I could easily make friends a create connections, i'm not obsessed about study and would like to have an enriching experience in Beijing.