Chinese-Forums

Advice for studying at Zhejiang University

laura-michelle

• New Members

Hello everyone ! 

I am currently a bachelor student majoring in Chinese language and literature. I will be graduating this year and I intend to apply for a Master degree (in Chinese) at Zhejiang University, though I have been unable to make a decision over what major to choose.......

A lot of people who graduated from the same major at my university opted for the MTCSOL program, yet I could tell that they were not quite satisfied with the things that they have studied....I took an interest in Chinese-English translations after taking a course in school, but the information I found about this program at ZheDa sort of frightened me. It seems that not a lot of foreigners venture into this area :)) From what I heard it is quite difficult for a non-native speaker to keep the pace with the other Chinese students and the requirements for graduation are very high (the person who informed me was a former student and she renounced her scholarship for this reason) 

Another option would be the International Business major (国际商务硕士). Last year, while I was studying Chinese in Hangzhou, I met a very nice Polish girl who described this major to me and I thought it would be a “不错的选择” if it weren't for 2 setbacks :

1. I have no knowledge of economics/marketing/etc 

2. I don't know what are the hiring prospects for those who study in this field 

My plan is to remain in China and work there upon graduation, but after I investigated a bit the Chinese job market for foreigners, I couldn't figure out which one of the degrees above would help me find a job more easily.....

For the reference, I passed HSK level 6 this January and I really want to do a degree in Chinese to consolidate my language skills.

Any advice,information regarding the above-mentioned majors  or shared experience with studying then finding a job in China would be highly appreciated   (。◕‿‿◕。) Thanks