Chinese-Forums

Analyse use of chengyu and comparing synonyms in text

Wippen (inactive)

Anyone fancy joining in to analyse the use of  chenguys in a text. We would also compare synonyms of other words plus look at the choice of words.

I am thinking about picking the closing speech of Xi Jin Ping which has nearly as many characters as China's history years. It is about 5-6 pages long. It is also full of chenguys. The language has been carefully picked also (obviously)

This is what I had in mind, but I don't think other people are interested in such minute details and analysis (my husband just rolled his eyes when he saw this). I am a lit graduate and it probably shows.

The first paragraphs sets the scene. There is an interplay between past and future and this will also be played upon in the rest of the speech.

The chengyu 一如既往 (=as in the past/as alwayy) uses the past 往 to  compare that to the present, meaning "as always". This chengyu also denotes consistency/stability= something that is always the same and stays constant, exactly like a stable situation in a country. Then this idiom 一如既往 is immediately predeeced by 将 which has a future meaning, again highlighting the interplay past/future that will be an important part of the full speech.

The rhetorical device of repeating (anaphora) is employed in the speech for example using the character 忠 three times, meaning loyal and of course has a sympbolic meaning here, containing "heart" and "China"

The use of 忠实 to describe responsibility only and subesequent consecutive use of 忠于 juxtaposes both motherland and people. The loyalty for both the latter is thus emphasised.

The literal meaning of 始终 in the next paragraph again emphasises "past and present" and stability over time. The fact that it is used three times in a row has a repetitive rhetorical effect, emphasising the importance of the people (who are also repeated three times)

始终 xx  始终 xx 始终 xx