Chinese-Forums

Foolish or Brave

Laminebean

Hey All,

Just wondering if anybody could tell me if i have been foolish or brave, or perhaps you can think of a different word. I have decided to leave to Beijing (from London). I fly in 3 weeks and have bought my ticket and got myself a tourist visa. My main aim is to find a job teaching English and learn Mandarin at the same time. Now, I have a Bachelors but do not have any teaching qualifications or experience. Would it be considered unwise to follow in my shoes or do you think its a brave opportunity? How easy would it be to find a job out there? And will it be easy to make friends (the Chinese can be quite xenophobic, understandably)?

I have no friends or family in China although I will be travelling with my girlfriend who speaks Mandarin pretty well. Ive done a bit of research on the city but there's nothing like a strangers' opinion on the matter to really bring honesty into the equation.

Feel free to reply whatever is in your mind.

Degree is the minimum legal teaching requirement (do not teaching experience as the Chinese beleive that a degree shows that you are educated enough to teach). Teaching is relatively easy, providing the school provides some assistance. If they don't, ask.

Easy to make friends. In China to have a western friend would be like having Prince Harry as a beer buddy. Having a western friend shows success and status.

If you have problems after arriving in Beijing, contact:

Geoffrey Weymouth or, Miss Guo

Premier Ocean Business Garden

Building A / 612

Jia 6 Hao, Guangqumenwai, Zhongshili nanjie,

Chongwen District, Beijing 100022

People's Republic of China

Phone: +86 10 8775 8197

Fax: +86 10 8775 8856

They should be able to arrange a teaching position within days, in readiness for the start of the school year (early September).

Say the Briggs's gave you their details and they will look after you.

I don't know about living in China, but I do know about teaching languages.