Chinese-Forums

How could this sentence be correct?

LuDaibola

I recently learned a sample sentence that I downloaded from Archchinese but, today, as I was studying GrammarWiki, I began to wonder how the sentence could possibly be correct.  Here's the sentence:

即使分手了,他們還是朋友。

And the translation they give is:

Even though they are divorced, they are still friends.

Since the fact that they are divorced is not hypothetical, wouldn't we need to use 雖然 instead of 即使 in this instance?  The reason I'm not just chalking this up to a typographical error on their part is because it's a sentence with audio and I can't help thinking that the person who recorded the audio, who is obviously Chinese, would have caught any simple mistake.

What am I missing here?  Thanks.

Hmm I do not mean to nitpick but being pedantic could mean exactly that, but it is pretty clear-cut that 分手 is break-up and 离婚 is divorce. This much is the same where East meets West. I am no professor, but that translation given could be better. 男女朋友之间用得着离婚吗?话说回来,夫妻之间能轻易一拍两散分手吗?

Otherwise, OP, 即使 does mean that. Immerse yourself in books, movies, drama and conversations and you would absorb these up auto-magically.

Perhaps I can try being helpful:

即使 can mean hypothetical “even if,” but it can also mean “even though.” The difference will depend on whether we can tell that something actually happened or not.

In this case, it’s the second half saying 還是, which to me implies that the following situation persists to now and is a real, non-hypothetical situation.

If it were hypothetical, I might expect something like: 他們即使分了手,還會做朋友.

• Helpful 2

14 hours ago, 陳德聰 said:

即使 can mean hypothetical “even if,” but it can also mean “even though.” The difference will depend on whether we can tell that something actually happened or not.