Chinese-Forums

把 exercises

Tony24

Hi everyone !

I’m currently studying 把 sentences, at this very moment I’m having trouble with this phrase : 把请你的护照给我。

I have to correct this sentence by finding the mistake that shake things up... I think it is the position of 请 but I’m not sure at all because I don’t know whether it is possible to start a 把 sentence without any subject, anyway, I suppose it should be 把你的护照给我。

Any help would be very appreciated. :)

请 just means "please".  It doesn't change the meaning of the sentence, just makes it more polite.

So it seems like you understand how to use 把, but maybe not so much how to use 请 (even though the latter is more complicated!).

I think that technically, in the sentence  请把你的护照给我, the 你的护照 is the direct object and 我 is the indirect object, with 你 as the implied subject (although I'm a little sketchy on this particular grammar).  It would be grammatically correct but redundant to say 请你把你的护照给我,  while it would be grammatically correct yet ambiguous to say 请你把护照给我.  So hopefully you can see that 把你的护照给我 has no redundancy and no ambiguity.

• Helpful 2

请 basically has two uses. The first one is like "please" and comes at the start of a sentence to make it more polite. The second is a verb meaning something along the lines of "to invite" and is usually used to ask someone to go for a drink/dinner together or whatever, for example "周末(我)请你喝杯啤酒". 

In your sentence 请 is used in the first sense so it needs to go at the start of the sentence, so you were correct.

Starting a sentence with 把 is common. As somethingfunny said, it's just a case of omitting the subject due to it already being clear from the context.

• Helpful 1

On 8/28/2018 at 6:29 PM, Tony24 said:

I don’t know whether it is possible to start a 把 sentence without any subject, anyway, I suppose it should be 把你的护照给我。

That's no different to an imperative sentence in English. A subject isn't explicitly stated in "Please give me your passport" either.