Chinese-Forums

Dominant Language Partners

chinoir

Hello everyone, I've been a lurker for a while and thought I should finally join the discussion. I'm an intermediate learner. I studied Mandarin in college. One year was study abroad. I then moved to China after graduation to teach English for two years. I then went back to the U.S. for a few years and now I'm finally back in China working again. It's been about a decade of Chinese and I'm finally feeling like I'm "getting" it....sorta. Anyway, my employer provides free Chinese language partners for employees. I practice with a language partner twice a week. She's great. We talk about random topics and I'm able to keep up 95% of the time. She speaks at a normal pace so speaking with her has really helped my listening comprehension. The problem is, she often takes over the conversation. She talks way more than I do and it's hard for me to find the right moment to interject. Even when I'm noticeably trying to say something, she just keeps going. And when I finally do say something, she'll start talking before I can complete my thought. I'm now at the point where my listening comprehension is much higher than my speaking ability. When I did Italki last year, I had the same issue. Online language partners would take over the majority of the conversation and it would be hard to interject.

I understand that I probably just need to be more assertive. But I also don't want to sound like an ass or disrupt what's usually a very interesting and lively conversation. Don't get me wrong, I think it's great that I'm at a level in my Chinese where a native speaker is more than happy to chat with me at a normal speed as if I was a native speaker. But, how am I going to improve my speaking if I don't actually get the chance to speak? Has anyone else dealt with this? How do you ensure you're getting the right amount of listening and speaking practice from a language partner?  

Chinoir,