Chinese-Forums

best/safest source for Chinese books in pdf form

Xiao Kui

I'm looking for a good and safe website for downloading Chinese ebooks in pdf form. I am a little overwhelmed by the internet and baidu wenku. I'm wary of clicking on links that may be unsafe.  Perhaps pdf's are safe files but I'm not sure. (I did a search in the forums but a lot of the threads were pretty old.) Thanks!

well, it depends if you want to pay for it or not. I'm not sure links to paid books available on some websites as  free download are allowed on this forum. Since you are careful about clicking on links that may be unsafe (for good reason), it'd be recommended that at least you scan the pdf files before opening them if you doubt about their safety. Also pdf files can contain malware (I'm a security researcher also dealing with malware analysis :P).

• Like 1
  • Helpful 1

Thanks.  I guess I have assumed that some works in Chinese are in the public domain maybe because I am accustomed to the fast and loose treatment of copyright laws in the mainland.  In the past a lot of links to sites that had books available for free download were available on these forums. I am especially looking for 平凡的世界 and 家。I also don't mind paying for books since Chinese books are usually pretty cheap at least compared to the US.  Also thanks for the warning about pdf files - nice to know I'm not paranoid after all. :D

• Like 1

1 hour ago, fabiothebest said:

I'm not sure links to paid books available on some websites as  free download are allowed on this forum.

Our policy is (and has been for a very long time) that we don't allow links to pirated Chinese learning material (ie, a learner's dictionary, a graded reader, an advanced listening course) but links to mass market Chinese media (a copy of 读者, the latest Feng Xiaogang movie uploaded in 14 ten-minute parts to Youtube) is usually fine. Although we might query if something is easily available at a reasonable price.

• Like 2