Chinese-Forums

Skritter does not train English-to-Chinese (only vice versa) :(

mstark

I've been using Skritter for ~5 months and went all the way up to HSK5. However, now I feel a little stuck, because I realized:

Skritter never trains "English to Mandarin". It never asks you "How to say >>a fine; violation ticket<< in Mandarin?"

Skritter only asks you the other way round: "What is the meaning of 罚单?“

For me, that's a huge problem. I'm able to read and pronounce almost anything I'm seeing, but when I try to speak I'm something missing "the most obvious words". I'm still thinking in English, and in many instances then I can't just remember what "a fine" means :). If I would see the 汉字 or hear the word, I would immediately know.

How have you solved this? Should I completely pivot away from Skritter and towards Anki? (any recommendations of HSK1-HSK5?)

3 hours ago, mstark said:

I'm still thinking in English

There comes a point where you would miss this step completely. This would come after enough instances of using the vocabulary and I suppose what the experts say moving from passive to active vocabulary.

@mstark I think you need to use a different app for this purpose. Simple flashcards would do. Skritter I think is primarily used for writing exercises not vocabulary exercises though it does make you remember the words and vocabs while writing. 

Pleco - it allows you to choose many different permutations of test configurations.

So you can have one that gives you the english meaning and you have to choose the correct Chinese character.

You can prompt for Characters, Pronunciation, Definition, Chars. & Defn., Chars. & Pron., Pron. & Defn.

You can show all the above with the addition of audio and the exception of characters.

Your choice of tests are Review only, Self graded, Multiple choice, Fill-in-the-Blanks, Stroke order, Tone practice.

It really is a very powerful flashcard app and it is a highly useful dictionary platform.