Chinese-Forums

Teaching Elementary Students Chinese

xiaojiang216

Hello! :D

I am 15 years old, and I have been asked to teach Chinese at a local elementary school. Along with a woman from Taiwan, we will be teaching about 12 kids.

I myself am not Chinese, but I have been studying the language independently for about 3 years. I'm now studying under a Chinese teacher at Yale University.

My question to you all is, how should I go about teaching all of these kids? I made the first lesson by myself... But my mom says it's too complicated.. But she doesn't speak Chinese at all, so I was wondering about what you all think.

The first lesson is about introducing yourself. There are only 7 phrases featured in the lesson. "Hello", "How are you?", "What's your name?", "My name is...", "Nice to meet you.", and "Goodbye". Then I have a drawing I did of two cute penguins telling each other their names. Then as an activity I was thinking of having the kids draw a picture of themselves and writing something on it like, "My name is Xiao Lin."

Is this too much? I have taught before, but I taught two Middle School teachers before their trip to China. Now that I typed out my ideas for the lesson, I feel like it's too much for elementary students... If someone could please let me know what they think, I would be very very greatful!

Thank you all very much! :mrgreen:

It doesn't look like it's that much, but on the other hand, I once spent at least half an hour trying to teach someone to say ni3 jiao4 shen2me ming2zi instead of ni3 jiao1 shen2me ming2zi5, without success. Maybe children pick it up easier, or maybe you could not be too strict about the tones, but still...

How about taking it even slower, and only teach them a few words every class? Like, tell a story about a dog but say gou instead of dog when you tell it.

Far be it from me to dictate to 15 year olds who study with Yale professors :mrgreen: , but . . .