Chinese-Forums

2 week study trip to China. Worth it?

Jan Finster

Hello all,

I am new to this forum and I wonder how to make the most of a 2 week Mandarin study trip to China. I started learning Chinese by myself 2 months ago and my current level is somewhere around HSK 3. I have already been to Beijing and Shanghai for business and I have seen the major sites in those cities, so I would not need too much time for sight seeing.

(At what level) does a short trip make sense?

How much can I realistically improve in 2 weeks and is this really more effective than  investing the money in an online Skype teacher?

How would you suggest I spend the 2 weeks? (Language school, private tutors.... (any ideas or suggestions on courses and/or locations))

Thank you for your help and suggestions!

• Good question! 1

I would say it would be worth it. Any time spent immersed in the target language must be worth.

I am not sure where you want to go but maybe something LTL have to offer might suit. Spend time living with a Chinese family.

Could be fun and interesting and a chance to scrub up your Chinese.

If you really managed to get to HSK 3 in 2 months you should be able to make good use of 2 weeks.

Find them here https://ltl-school.com/

Just so you know, I have written some articles for them, I am a freelance reviewer, so have no other connection with them.

• Like 2

Jan,