Chinese-Forums

Emoji connotations on WeChat?

mungouk

I've recently started using WeChat in earnest, mainly with a bunch of Chinese teachers I'm studying with on a course here in Thailand.

It seems that their interpretations of emoji on WeChat don't quite match with mine... for example, I was just told that ?means "interesting" whereas ?is more appropriate for indicating "happy", and most of them seem to be using ?for thinking things are funny (I think — WeChat's built-in emojis don't entirely match those on my mac/iPhone)... possibly due to the custom of females covering their mouths when they laugh?  (The teachers are all female.)

Has anyone else encountered this?  I'm starting to feel like I'm in a minefield full of faux pas at the moment! ?

• Like 1
  • Good question! 1

For me I can see your first example and on android I can see all except for one in mungouk's post 

7 hours ago, mungouk said:

seem to be using ?for thinking things are funny

and the second to last one in your post 889.

Hmmm. On both Android and Windows I don't seem to be able to add any edits following an emoji. Maybe something needs fixing. ?️

In any event, check what emojis show on the edit box dropdown when you click the emoji symbol on the taskbar. On Windows I get a lot of those black-and-white placeholders.

7 hours ago, SunnySideUp said:

I was told the normal standard smiley I used (--> ? ) was not in fact a smiling emoji expressing happiness, but instead a fake smile. "Correct" would have been any of these here: ???

So confusing! I try to use the damned things as little as possible. 

Has anyone else encountered this?  I'm starting to feel like I'm in a minefield full of faux pas at the moment! ?

Yes. I tend to finally figure this stuff out a few months after they go out of fashion. 

Here's what I'm seeing in my post.  Presumably @roddy would tell us to use the built-in emojis rather than typing them on our devices...?