Chinese-Forums

Chinese character for "spirit"

redwagon

• New Members

I imagine there are a few forum sections where this might be posted, but this seemed the most relevant.

I believe the character for spirit is this:  

I do not speak Chinese, nor am I well educated on Chinese culture and history. I'm a beginner. I am writing a fiction story and am interested in this character, not in any religious sense, but the history and derivation of the character itself. My understanding is that this character carries the connotation of spirit or "soul" as separate from the body. I'm wondering if there is scholarship on the origination/history of this character. Does it have any pictogram elements? It does seem to have two separate elements - is this intentional? Has its origin been dated? I would imagine that it is one of the older characters (or perhaps has an old precursor), with considerable interest in spiritual matters in Chinese philosophy 2500 years ago or more, and, in Asia, broadly speaking, perhaps a millenia before that (the Vedas).

Appreciate any comments on the origins of this character, or direction on where I might research this matter.  Thank you. redwagon

spirit.jpg

The components are 云 and 鬼.

云 yún indicates the pronunciation of the character 魂 hún.

鬼 "ghost, spirit" indicates the meaning. It originally depicted a person with the cranium emphasized. The soul was believed to exit through the fontanel or cranial sutures upon death.

Most Chinese characters contain two components (some more, some less). Usually one of the components indicates meaning and the other indicates sound, though occasionally a component can serve both functions.