Chinese-Forums

Tone of 个

fkj

I'm very new at learning chinese (mandarin), and at first I belived the measure word 个 to have the pinyin: ge4, from Rosetta Stone - and UniHan confirmed this by listing the possible tones to be: ge4 and ge3.

All other sources I've come across uses the neutral tone (ge5). I even found a list of measure words where the pinyin is listed as: "ge5 (ge4)".

What is the right pinyin for 个, ge4 or ge5? Is it a question of dialect?

when 个 comes after a number and is used as measure word ( like 三个) it is ge5 and when it is in a word like 个人 (individual) it is ge4, so it depends on the situation. Maybe some other people can give more and/or better examples. I hate words with more than one tone and light tones. I say pick a tone and go with it! I have a bunch of questions I'm gonna ask about tones especially straightening out when certain location and directional words use regular tones light tones instead such as 上,下,近,出,来,去 . One of these days I'm gonna get it straight but that's another thread for another day.

Stupefied (stupidified?) for now, XK

I understand. The reason why both ge4 and ge5 is found in literature, is that some authors change the pinyin to reflect the change from g4 to g5, when 个 is used as a measure word, and some authors always show the original/basic pronunciation.

A question about: 个人:

Is 个 repeated in:

一个个人 [yi2(1) ge5(4) ge4 ren2] an individual

or is there a way to avoid the repetition, or is it "okay" because the pronunciation of the two 个's differs?

I know, for instance [PCG p.61], the measure word 本 (measure word for books) is not used for notebooks: 本子, to avoid the repetition: 一本本子. Instead 个 is used: 一个本子. But there is no default measure word to use when the default measure word is the cause of the repetition!?

一个个人 [yi2(1) ge5(4) ge4 ren2] an individual