Chinese-Forums

Studying in Canada vs. China

oulaian

I'm a bit undecided on this issue.

I've been Teaching English in China, HK and Taiwan for the past three years (this past year I have studied semi-formally with TLI in Taiwan). I can speak pretty good, but can barely read or write. I love studying Chinese.

I left home (Ottawa, Canada) when I was 20 so I still have no BA.

I'm seriously considering getting a BA in Chinese from University of British Columbia so that I can have a proper BA AND continue my Chinese studies.

OR, I could go to Beijing and study there, but as far as I can tell, the certificate or diploma I would get would not be as impressive AROUND the world as a degree from UBC would. If I was to get into an undergraduate program at Beida or one of the big universities in Beijing, would the degree hold up as strongly as one from UBC would?

UBC's Chinese prgram is apparently one of the best in North America. How does the cost of university in Canada compare with that of Beijing? I'm having trouble finding the difference between degree programs and exchange programs in Beijing... are there internatonal student fees to take into account??

Hope someone can show me some more light... this forum has been so good to me already!

Thanks,

Ryan

I wonder if it would be possible for you to do a BA in Chinese in you can't really read or write in the language.

I am not sure of the entry requirements for Bachelor degrees for the Chinese language in western universities. But say, if I, a Chinese, were to do a BA in English in Hong Kong or UK or USA or Australia, I think at least I had to be fairly proficient in English (including reading and writing) and have basic knowledge on the literature or linguistics (depending on my focus).

I do not mean to discourage you. I just think that you may not be ready yet ...