Chinese-Forums

One very upset Chinese-Canadian

WilsonFong

I've always wanted to visit China since I was young and I thought going there to teach after I graduated from university would be a great oppportunity to explore the country. I've been looking for a job for the last few months there and not even a single employer has called me for an interview. Although I was informed by my TESL teacher and my friend who's been to China that it would be quite difficult for me to find a teaching job because I'm not white, I didn't expect it to be this difficult.

One recruiter in Shenzhen e-mailed me immediately after I sent my application and told me that he could not hire me because I was of Chinese descent. I just called another recruiter in Beijing who told me that it would be nearly impossible for me to find a teaching job in China because I don't have a Western face. I have a Chinese-Canadian friend who's been in Shanghai for a month now and has been facing the exact same situation. What really ticks me off is that he told me that some schools were hiring people from places in Europe like Italy and the Czech Republic (whom I'll assume don't speak perfect English).

I still really want to go to China though. Does anyone have any tips for me as to what I should be doing differently?

It is possible to find a teaching job, even if you are of Chinese origin. It however can be difficult to find a position exactly where you want to teach and you may face some "discimination" from the locals. Particularly since you will be paid a higher salary, and the locals also think as you are of Chinese heritage, you should be paid the same.