Chinese-Forums

Should I learn ALL hsk 6 words in order to pass HSK 6?

brigitte

Hey guys,

I've been studying mandarin for 4 years, I'm now living in china and speak/read chinese on a daily basis. I'm also doing my bachelor here.  

I'm still far away of the level I want to get, but I always thought I was kind of "decent" at mandarin. Since I do understand most of my classes, and can read newspaper (still a difficult thing as I read very slowly and may not understand 100% of all words but I get a grasp of it). Recently I picked up on some books to improve (started with 活著 and now reading 許三觀賣血記)my reading. 

Anyway until now I've never really bothered to learn HSK words. I just learn words that I encounter in life (might it be chatting with friends, reading something or classes). So I know a bunch of words that are not even in the HSK. But I've hard time determining my level, and I need to pass hsk 6 in few months. My surprise when I discovered that I only knew 35% of them.... So 1600 left (according to chinese text analyser with my anki deck, so there are words that I may know, but definitly around 1300 unknow for sure). 

I took a view at HSK 6 test.I don't think I could pass it now. But it may not be a lack of vocabulary, morever I'm not used to that kind of test, (for exemple the part where you need to find grammatical error, most of the time i have no clue) and second my reading speed is very slow (but i'm working on it).

I usually heavily rely on SRS for vocabulary learning. I learn every word by learning by heart a senteance with this word. And I have two cards (recognition and recall). I know that it might seems too much for some, but it really sticks in my memory that way. 

Should I learn all HSK 6 words in order to pass the HSK 6 - and get good grade - ?