Chinese-Forums

teach English even if non native

moidave

Bonjour,

I would like to go to China next year and am looking for jobs.

I am native from France but have a BA in English, and this is my third year in the US where I am a graduate teaching assistant in French. I will graduate in May with a MA in French. I think I have reached a near-native level.

I have experience in teaching both languages at different levels (from 1st grade to university)

Here is my question:

Do I have a chance of teaching English in China even if I am not a native english speaker?

Also, they say that even if converted to dollars the pay is very low, the purchase power is very high.

Is it true? How much does a small TV cost, in yuan?

How about a new car?

Last but not least, is there any French teacher in this forum?

Merci!

David

You can definitely get an English teaching job if you are a non-native speaker of English, but your English is fluent.

I worked at a kindergarten in Chengdu for 2 yrs where we had a teacher from Germany and another from Italy and I also met Israelis who were teaching English. Sadly, looking different from the Chinese is probably the best asset for getting an English teaching job.

Of course you may not have as many options as a native speaker or someone might choose a native speaker over you for a position, and it if your accent is very thick it might cause Chinese to doubt your abilities.(if you have a little accent a lot of Chinese might not even pick up on any difference btween you and a native speaker at all) But there are plenty of opportunities, for being hired by schools as well as private tutoring. There should also be some opportunities for teaching French in some cities, tho they may be fewer and farther between.

Also agree it should not be a problem. Some schools however may wish to speak with you over the phone before making a formal offer to make sure that your ascent is not strong. If it is too strong, they may refuse to make an offer.