Chinese-Forums

Best Flashcard Setting to Actually Memorize Vocabulary

Caleb Williams

I read somewhere that SRS isn’t the best method to memorize and accumulate vocabulary. I just want to find out how to I should set my test setting to help myself accumulate vocabulary. I’ve been studying for 7 years.

• Good question! 2

The best way to accumulate vocabulary is to read/listen/otherwise consume content appropriate for your level.

SRS can then be used as a secondary tool to supplement this learning.

If you only use an SRS to accumulate vocabulary you will find that when you try to read something, many of the words you supposedly know have only been learnt to a superficial level that lets you get them correct in flashcard reviews but still not understand them in real life content.

For what it's worth, here is my Pleco setup, and here is where I talk about using reading and memorizing vocab.

• Helpful 2

I use the standard Pleco SRS algorithm. Previously I followed the approach to just dump everything into SRS and let the algorithm take care of it, however at more than 10k entries the reviews start to pile up and you review many words that are not very relevant. Now I use a more targeted approach and learn only words that I am about to see in  a book or tv series, using precompiled word lists. Afterwards I remove those words from my flashcards until they come up again in another list. That way all the words I study are immediately relevant and I can see how they are used in the real world. It also makes it easier to limit the amount of reviews I have to do each day.

• Like 2

22 hours ago, imron said:

The best way to accumulate vocabulary is to read/listen/otherwise consume content appropriate for your level.