Chinese-Forums

A second opinion on studying in China

luker7

I'm looking for some advice. 

Some backstory; I'm currently self studying Chinese and I decided to apply for the Chinese Government Scholarship at the start of this year to study International Economics and Finance (undergraduate). I also applied for a uni in Edinburgh as to give myself more options. I applied to International Business and Chinese.

I've been accepted into Edinburgh and just the other day I got a reply from the UK embassy to let me know they put my name forward to CSC. 

I've now been thinking, in the case I get accepted for CSC, which option should I choose?

I've been thinking about how UK degrees will be more internationally recognised and have better teaching methods than Chinese universities. However with a Chinese degree I would have a much better chance to actually learn the language and go back to the country which I loved. But with the current restrictions on finding work in China without the 2 years experience it seems I'd either need to work as an English teacher (something I don't want to do) or go back to the UK to work for a couple of years in a country where my degree wouldn't hold as much power. 

Any second opinions on what the best option would be here?

Thanks 

A very good question, indeed.

May I know which Chinese university/ies have you applied to?

11 minutes ago, luker7 said:

UK degrees will be more internationally recognised and have better teaching methods than Chinese universities

This will actually get you very polarised answers. For what I've seen, C9 universities are actually well-known to a good HR manager in the west, and if you are planning on making your life in China down the road, they'll be worth more than a degree from a "secondary" university in the UK (everything that is not Harvard/Oxford is secondary to many in China, mind you).