Chinese-Forums

Suggestions for better learning? Intermediate to advanced

Cyath

Hi all and thanks for all the help and support that have been provided thus far. I've been plugging away at my Chinese for a few years now and my goal is to get to an employable standard by the end of the year (HSK 5) The things I do now are :

1. Read one page of a Jin Yong novel each day, with Internet assistance. Doable, but hard!

2. Peruse my Pleco word bank of 1000+ words. I revise it whenever I have a free moment outside. I'm just trying to build vocabulary here.

3. Play video games in Chinese, like Hearthstone and whatever has a Chinese version.

I basically just rinse and repeat these and I think they are working ok - I target about 10-20 new words each day. I am fairly conversant in the grammar of Chinese and I come from a Japanese speaking background, so that's not so bad.

The only problem is that they get a little boring now and then. I've looked into DuoLingo and LingQ and other language programs and frankly they don't seem worth it? I am not adverse to spending $ if it gets me where I want to go faster.

I could of course increase my immersion by listening to Chinese music, listening to podcasts etc but then I run into the 24 hours a day problem - I have other commitments. :( I do listen to Chinese music as a learning tool.

Could anyone recommend anything I have possibly overlooked? Or alternative/better methods? 

Moving from intermediate to advanced is really hard. Just as you said, it's boring because all the novelty is long gone. It's not so much your studying technique that's important, it's how to maintain your enthusiasm for studying.

The key to keeping up your enthusiasm is being in a Chinese-speaking environment so you can actually put your hard-earned labours to use. If that's not possible, finding a local group of Chinese speakers to hang out with is a second-best alternative.

Just sitting around those books and computers for years on end is deadly.