Chinese-Forums

I'm looking to begin work translating.

johnrichardandersen

• New Members

I have studied chinese for years and lived in taiwan for a couple years. I am now attending university in the united states and am looking for some work to help pay the bills. I have always loved chinese and i am currently studying manufacturing science. I have thought that providing translation for chinese sellers that sell to english speaking regions of the world would be a good way to make use of my knowledge of chinese and manufacturing. I have reached out to sellers in the couple places Ive been able to find them but finding their contacts has still been the largest obstacle. Anyone have any experience doing that or have any tips on how i can find some work doing translation that would work well for a busy college student? Thanks!

Great advice from Lu (as always!) 

From my experience, cold-calling to get the ball rolling is painful but does work, and improving your English is very important, as the standard required to prove why clients should be paying you for so-called quality is very high.

• New Members

My mom is a French translator who got started by getting accredited with the ATA (American Translators Association), which you can get through a test for a translation-direction. You can also have a look at project-bidding sites such as Proz, but you might wind up depressed. Most languages, not just Chinese, are also getting squeezed on rates these days(/decades). Freelance translating is definitely not easy money... and many agencies require translators to purchase expensive software like Trados or MemoQ. I'd consider it much more of a career choice than a side gig.

On a related note, I'm curious if anyone has experience translating more interesting materials as a hobby, and whether you've found it to be a fulfilling pastime.

• Like 1