Chinese-Forums

Translation

Anon100

I wouldn't say they are meaningless.  Single characters like these are often used to depict certain meanings (for example the 福 character can be found anywhere, even though it could be considered a "half-word" in modern Chinese ).

For the meanings they convey, I am no expert on this so I should probably let someone else answer. But if I were to make some guesses,

和 - peace/harmony

爱 - love

健 - healthy(??)

繁 - numerous(????) 

As for whether these actually make sense on their own enough to be used for a tattoo, I couldn't tell you. A Chinese person could provide better cultural context.   

• Thanks 1
  • Helpful 2

In any case, don't get a Chinese character tattoo if you don't know anything about Chinese or characters. The odds are too high that either you get it wrong, or the tattooist gets it wrong or picks an ugly font, and you'll have it on your body permanently. Perhaps find a calligrapher and get a nice scroll with these concepts, or pick a font you like and get these words in English. That way, you can actually read the nice things you wish from life.

• Like 1

I would definitely get a Chinese calligrapher to design the tattoo. Not only will they be able to create beautiful font and design (if you ask a tattoo artist who can't write Chinese characters, there is a pretty big chance that the characters will look like a child has drawn them, yup I say drawn because that's what people who don't know how to write them would do), they can also come up with better combination of words/characters to convey the meaning you want  https://instagram.com/bbzm_dk?igshid=uvufl196mtjt

Not to come across rude but if I wanted calligraphy or other words, I wouldn’t have asked this question. I am not looking for suggestions, I’m looking for a simple translation as I KNOW it’s permanent. 

if you are not here to answer my question, I’d rather you not say anything at all.