Chinese-Forums

a transition - learning chinese in a class problems - reading - listening

赫杰

Hello everyone, :help:help:help

I just been studying Chinese at 华师 in wuhan for about a few weeks. My background is nearly two years of self study in my spare time (in America) and not sleeping very much.

If you have been/are in a similar situation please help me by answering two problems:

**Also, not to point anyone out, but I read a few posts with beijingbooty's comments and from what I read I think he/her a few years ago was basically in the same situation as me in terms of study and a listening problem. So mr./mrs. beijingbooty (if you are still here) if you could help me, that would be kewl, or I could pm you. whichever you prefer! moving on....

1st problem:

Have you had trouble adjusting to learning Chinese in a classroom? If so, what did you do to adjust?

Personally, I understand usually 95 percent of what the teacher(s) says, and usually already know much of our "new" vocabulary. But during things such as reading passages (third problem) and listening (second problem) I still answer questions wrong, sometimes. Also my grammar is sometimes a problem, because USUALLY Chinese will understand you even if you forget to add a le, shang, etc. But I am confident this problem will work itself out in time.

2nd problem:

Listening, big problem for me and for many people I have seen...I think if I can work this one out, I will be able to understand radio, TV, and other's conversation a little better...

Like beijingbooty's case a long time ago, I usually understand the words but have problem reading, comprehending, and the finally choosing the answer in the amount of time given. Example, I just timed the amount given for us to answer in our book (which says is based after hsk examples). 5.6 seconds.... I was just over half way of understanding the FIRST choice of A B C when they went on to asking the next question.