Chinese-Forums

Couple of questions from middle-aged self-taught learner

Liebkuchen

I'm a false beginner who's just begun learning with seeing how far I can get self-studying in the 4 years others spend full time on a degree. I'm aiming for 16 hours a week which includes 2 hours a week formal tuition with italki, plus memrise daily, writing with exchange partners and reading plus watching film/tv/ listening to radio. 

Could anyone give me a reasonable timescale for hsk level attainment at the end of each year e.g. year 1 expect hsk 2, year 2- hsk 3 etc? I want to have goals that require dedication while being attainable. 

Also, I'm just too old for a masters in China- do the non-degree language courses at universities in China also have an age limit or can you be older?

Lastly, and this might be unlikely, but many years ago, I saw a Chinese uni advertising a work-study programme where you taught some English as a means to fund the language course. Does anyone know of something similar nowadays? 

• Like 1

Hi,
My situation may have been comparable. I didn't know anything about Chinese when I began but I spoke fluent Japanese and while my reading Japanese has never been great, I could recognize around 2000 characters to varying degrees. This has likely aided my study of the characters when compared to someone with no exposure to the Chinese characters before.