Chinese-Forums

Teacher posting disturbing moments

suMMit

A teacher I have been studying with for a couple months has been posting moments  about depression, anger towards relatives(quite explicit, in Chinese) , and even self-harm. I didn't notice this until a couple of weeks ago. She doesn't talk about any of this in class, but she's not the not the cheeriest of teachers.  We're not 'particularly' close, so I don't know how I could help. I was thinking about moving on because her internet connection, no matter whether we use zoom, wechat, skype, all awful.  Once I started seeing the moments posts I decided for sure not to continue with her, but I feel a little guilty about it. I don't know what help I could offer though. I wonder if I should say something to her, to the platform I book the classes on or just move on. 

Hmm if you are not that close to her my guess is you can ask her 您最近怎麼樣?還好嗎?我看過您的朋友圈有一點擔心。See what she says, I guess there must be other people closer to her that have seen that moment as well. I personally would not report it to the platform if I don’t know the platform policy and her that well. I think a lot of companies don’t really care about the well being of the people using their platform and only care about themselves so it could make situation worse for her if she then get kicked off the platform or penalised. 

I know asking those questions above probably won’t be that much help if her problem is serious but sometimes when you are really down it helps a little to know someone noticed and care enough to ask. 

• Like 3

Privacy -> Set Privacy -> Chats Only. Problem solved.

I take it from the tone of the post you want to rush in like a white knight and fix her problems.  Ain't gonna happen.  Don't get involved.