Chinese-Forums

zimu.ai: browser extension for subtitles from OCR. What would you like to watch?

martindbp

Hey everyone!

I'm a software/ML/computer vision engineer by trade and I've spent some time building an OCR subtitle extraction algorithm for videos, and made them accessible through a browser extension. My goal is to make available pretty much any video of interest online, whether on Youtube, Netflix or chinese sites like Bilibili. As of now I'm working only with Youtube though. You can download it here, and find short installation/user guide here. For now it's what I would consider this "beta" software, and it's Chrome only and requires manual installation. The current list of processed shows can be found at browse.zimu.ai. The list is pretty short right now but I'm processing new videos every day.

As you probably know, there are quite a few similar extensions for soft subs (which are also supported naturally), but I'm trying out a slightly different concept/philosophy for the subtitles. The idea is we want to display the minimal yet sufficient information such that a learner can understand the content in a reasonable time frame. From the start, the pinyin, hanzi and word translations are visible for all words. Gradually you can hide information you know, but new unknown words are thus visible by default, hopefully keeping you in flow. If you keep learning until all the subtitles are completely hidden, viola, you're fluent! At least that's the idea. But, naturally everyone is free to use it as it suits best, I've tried to keep enough settings to make it flexible to use.