Chinese-Forums

Participants wanted - Tone training test

Yuniverse

Hi everyone! I’m a PhD student looking for native English speakers interested in participating in my study. Learners with Mandarin learning experience below six-months are wanted. 

The study involves several language perceptual (listening) tasks lasting within 30 minutes. It will be conducted online. You will only need a computer, a keyboard, and headphones to access the study. Specifically, I’m exploring to what extent the training paradigm I designed can help improve listeners’ ability on distinguishing tones, i.e., pitch patterns that contrast word meanings. Tone is particularly challenging for people learning a new tonal language, such as Mandarin, Cantonese, or Thai. Even advanced learners have been reported to keep having difficulties with tones. Participants will potentially benefit from the training in the study regarding their language perceptual learning ability. All data collected will be anonymised and stored securely.

If you are interested in the study, please contact y.li218@newcastle.ac.uk and I will send you the study link by email. If you have any questions or would like any further information on the study, please don’t hesitate to contact me or leave a message below!

Many thanks in advance. :)

@suMMitThank you for your message! I followed up on my original post about the experiment results. I can see it myself, but now by your message I realise I'm not sure if I posted it on the right place and whether it's visible to everyone else. I'm copying it below:

"

Hi everyone! I hope you are all doing well ? This is the update about the experiment.