Chinese-Forums

Loci method and Chinese language

fabiothebest

Has anyone here successfully used loci method (or memory palace) for learning Chinese words?

Recently I'm studying memory techniques and they can be useful for my university study as well. They could be used for learning Chinese as well I guess, but I'm not sure I found an efficient system that is worth the effort.

I think that learning new words should be based primarily on understanding, components break down etc., so a purely mnemonic system may not be ideal, memory palace is a very powerful tool though. There aren't many resources available online about memory palace and Chinese learning, anyway for example there is a World memory champion that also studied Chinese among the other things and used a particular technique. I would like to share some resource here so that maybe we can brainstorm how to use memory techniques for learning Chinese. I'd like to hear your ideas.

https://mullenmemory.com/memory-palace/chinese-system-part-1

https://mullenmemory.com/memory-palace/chinese-system-part-2

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_qGjfSrQH4Y

https://countryoftheblind.blogspot.com/2012/01/mnemonics-for-pronouncing-chinese.html

For those who aren't aware of memory palace, well it's a way of memorising things by encoding information in the form of images and imagining them interacting with each other in your mind while following the path of a place that you already know, so that you can attach a new info to the solid memory of objects location that already belongs to your long term memory and you are able to recall with no effort. It helps transferring new information from short term to long term memory. This also allows to memorise information in a particular order.