Chinese-Forums

Teaching Chinese in America

Magnus77

Greetings. 

I am a Mandarin Chinese teacher in an urban high school in America's Northeast and I wanted to use this forum as a way to see what other Chinese teachers are doing in America to teach Chinese, Chinese culture and meet the state requirements and needs.

I've been teaching Chinese in a charter school for 5 years and now I'm in a big mega huge urban high school. I have 5 classes and the classes range from Chinese 1 to Chinese 3.  I have 2 Chinese 1 classes, a Chinese 2 class and a Chinese 2 honors and then a Chinese 3 class.  The school is very supportive and the students are typical American high school students: big into their phones, TikTok and realizing college is around the corner.

I wanted to start this thread to possibly entice other Chinese teachers in the US to share how they do things in their classes, how they motivate their kids and share best practices.

Question 1: What textbooks do you use?  Do you use textbooks?  Do you use Duolingo?  Do you enjoy the classes?  

Ready...?  GO!

• Like 4