Chinese-Forums

English Translation of the Book 山海经 (Shanhai Jing; Classic of the Mountains and Seas): A Chinese Bestiary by Richard E. Strassberg

MTH123

I’m new to all this, so please pardon my extreme ignorance on all levels. I recently stumbled across an English translation of the ancient book 山海经 (Shanhai Jing; Classic of the Mountains and Seas) for free! It’s A Chinese Bestiary: Strange Creatures from the Guideways Through Mountains and Seas by Richard E. Strassberg, published in 2002.

A Chinese Bestiary can be downloaded for free at the following link: https://archive.org/details/AChineseBestiary.山海经; Shanhai Jing; Classic of the Mountains and Seas can also be downloaded for free at https://archive.org. Search for “山海经 Classic of Mountains and Seas.”

A Chinese Bestiary weaves together translations from 山海经; Shanhai Jing; Classic of the Mountains and Seas with information from other texts. The author, Richard E. Strassberg, is a Professor of Chinese at the University of California, Los Angeles. His book is apparently written for general people and not just academics. It’s apparently more accessible to general people than its preceding English translation The Classic of Mountains and Seas by Anne Birrell, published in 2000. (See comments on Amazon.)

Regarding 山海经; Shanhai Jing; Classic of the Mountains and Seas, according to Wikipedia, “Earlier Chinese scholars referred to it as a bestiary, but apparently assumed it was accurate. In fact, the information in the book is mythological. It is not known why it was written or how it came to be viewed as an accurate geography book.”

This and other things I’ve read on the internet about the very many different categories that the book has been put into are part of what has drawn my interest to the book. I’m the most curious about what it may have to say about core Chinese principles and culture.