Chinese-Forums

seeking purple trees

大块头

I just finished a PhD, but with all the zero-sum games going on it's looking more and more like the rather specific thing I was hoping to do after graduating won't pan out. Finding a different sort of job here in the US wouldn't be a problem, but it would be nice if I could use this language I've been studying now for 15 years. Packing my bags and seeing what I can find over there isn't an option because the wife has a good job here. If one had a skill set in modeling and statistics, are there any fields where they could also leverage their Chinese proficiency?

• Like 1

Congratulations!

I will share my two cents.

If it sounds interesting to you, I think that you can work on machine learning in the context of natural language processing, specifically for Mandarin.

And, if I may be so selfish, I'd ask you to utilize your skill set to work on the task of using the technology to extract those hard-coded subtitles in those Chinese videos. I'd imagine that the machine learning can probably do a good job at figuring out what Chinese characters they are.

• Thanks 1

This is just brainstorming, kind of a shot in the dark, but...

Do you think there might be some US-based environmental engineering firms that are  focused on "clean energy" (such as solar or wind turbine) who are interested in getting a better, more detailed look at the Chinese experience with such modalities? 

If such a company wanted to not only gain a detailed background understanding of such issues, but wanted to actually partner with one or more Chinese companies that were doing similar projects, it seems that someone with your skill-set would be a highly valuable asset.