Chinese-Forums

Keats Chinese School

Larry Language Lover

Larry Language Lover

Does anyone have any recent opinions, reviews or evaluations concerning Keats Chinese School? 

As a first-timer to China who knows almost nothing,  I like the idea of having everything there all in one place.

My experience is by now outdated, but I studied there a lot and always found the staff competent and helpful. An excellent school. 

On 6/22/2023 at 3:01 AM, Larry Language Lover said:

As a first-timer to China who knows almost nothing,  I like the idea of having everything there all in one place.

This cuts both ways. If you are resourceful and energetic, you will learn more practical "how to get along in China" stuff if you are out on your own. Being in a "sink or swim" situation, way out of your comfort zone, is very motivating.

Furthermore, my personal belief is that you should avoid hanging out with other expats and foreigners completely. Make Chinese friends instead. Preferably ones who don't know much or any English. Get out from under the school's maternal wing as soon as you can. 

• Like 3
  • Helpful 1

On 6/25/2023 at 8:50 PM, abcdefg said:

Make Chinese friends instead.

To further elaborate, have some sort of hobby where you would be learning or doing a skill in a group of mandarin speakers. That would force interaction.

For example, learn table tennis with a club and also get personal table tennis coach. You get some exercise, interact with people who you normally would not have met, learn some new terminology (which is repeated a lot), use the language practically, go back and ask the Chinese tutor “what did the table tennis coach mean when he/she said…”