Chinese-Forums

Introduction to Chinese Mandarin Studying

Explore Chinese

Hi all,

I'm new to this forum. I'm currently studying HSK5 and been studying Chinese for a while now. I'm part of various discords, forums and sub-reddits etc around the topic of learning Chinese.

I started a blog recently, where I wrote an article in an attempt to try to cover an introduction into learning Chinese, as it seems to be a super common question that I see all the time. I wrote an article trying to give a reasonable, but not too in depth, introduction to Chinese Mandarin and came up with an infographic to try help people. The intent was beginner friendly and not make it seem too intimidating.

Looking for some feedback and / or tips that you might recommend to someone starting to learn Chinese that I might not have covered. The main article is here if anyone wants to check it out. As I am a learner and not specifically a language teacher, there might be some key parts that I have missed.

image.thumb.png.3fd8407a2a8486c4c4733a5584f5d878.png

Ah interesting point. I took the usual route and focused on Pinyin in the beginning, and kind of wish I had started characters earlier so it wasn't such a shock. I read in an article recently that a lot of students stop around HSK3 once characters are introduced, I hadn't considered it might put people off in the early stages.

Thanks for the useful comment.

• Like 1

Sorry to toss cold water on your idea, but I don't believe you're ever going to be able to define a single path that is the right advice for everyone. 

The path you described is most definitely not what I followed when I first studied Chinese for three months intensively before going to work in China for a year. 

- I never reviewed tonal pairings.

- I did not learn any characters whatsoever for the first 6 months.

- I never studied vocabulary specifically, just absorbed it as I went along.  Never used spaced repetition or any sort of memorization.