Chinese-Forums

Outlier "Essentials" Review for a humble learner:

Ledu

After some discussion about the use of mnemonics when learning characters/words, I went ahead and purchased "Outlier Essentials". Since I am studying toward HSK6, this should cover 3,000 characters. I should know 2500 characters for HSK6 so I think this “essentials” is worth it. The "expert" may not be for a learner such as myself.I am no way affiliated with any party. I strongly feel this add-on will help many learners but it is up to you.  I couldn't really find too much info on this or the pleco site. Here is what I like so far:

1. It is not a reacurring subscription.
2. Not too costly in my opinion.
3. Helps to make associations to parts/components of characters easily.
4. The "Form" part is nice. The description there alone can create an association to help you understand and memorize a character quickly.
5. It breaks down the type of component.
6. Simple meaning
7. Stroke order as a sort of picture with all steps. This can be helpful when practicing handwriting with all steps displayed. 
8. Obviously the portability and speed in comparison with using a physical dictionary.
9. Description is in English which helps me quickly process the information.
10. I don't have to go to a website, it's on my device and can work offline. 

I will compare it to the book I am using to learn a little about components. Ledu Book 3 page 40. Here it teaches me about 生. The description in the book is in Chinese. It will take me a little time and some OCR use to quickly figure it out. Otherwise I am going to scribble on Pleco on my phone to figure out words I don't within the textbook description.