Chinese-Forums

Teaching Guitar in China

gunsella

hello friends

i am returning to china in january/february 2006 to teach english. at home i am a guitar teacher and i am interested in pursuing this in china as well as teaching english.

perhaps i could teach at night after classes. details are sketchy.

does anyone have any experience with either teaching or learning guitar in china? i have found nothing on the web and i am just interested to hear anyone's experiences thus far.

i am currently unsure what questions i should even be asking but any help would be greatly appreciated.

:help

nice forums btw.

Don't have any experience, but....

Chinese will give anything a go. The school we worked at found at that I could play tennis. As a result I became a pseudo tennis coach (must admit that I have intermediate skills, but these were far better than the locals who had never seen a real racket before).

Imagine the same would apply to a guitar. If you let the locals know that you can teach guitar, you should have a lot of interest. Just promote youself on arrival....and of course take a guitar.

Out of all curiousity, how much does a guitar cost? I play and desperately need a new one. I'd prefer to leave my rickety old one in the US and pick up a new one in China.

What would that run me? I don't need anything fancy, just a basic accoustic guitar.

Check it out:

http://www.shanghaiexpat.com/MDForum-viewtopic-t-33456.phtml

I've seen postings on www.asiaxpat.com as well. Your best bet is to place a job wanted post on the above websites, or find a big instrument store in the city you're planning on going to. Give them your business cards and give them a one-time fee if someone wants to hire you, etc. I think that some local Chinese would be interested in hiring a foreign guitar instructor as well.