Chinese-Forums

Leave career in US to study abroad?

tcador

I'm curious if anyone has done something similar to what I'm suggesting...

I'm currently a software developer working in the United States. I was born and raised here and only visited Beijing for about 2 weeks with my finance, who in comparison was born and raised in Beijing and only recently ('98) moved to the United States. We've both decided that we would like to spend at least a couple of years living and working in Beijing. The problem is I've only got minimal Chinese speaking skills from personal lessons I've received, so finding a job is going to be difficult compared to a similarly qualified bilingual applicant. She is staying in the United States until December 2006 when she completes her masters’ degree.

I just turned 25 and I've decided I don't want to wait much longer before I begin really learning Chinese. And what better way is there than actually living in Beijing? I'm considering moving to Beijing in early 2006 and attending BLCU for at least semester to better my speaking skills. There are a couple of options related to living arrangements - one being I could stay with her parents. With a commute time about an hour compared to 15-20 minutes living on or nearby campus, I think I would prefer living nearby seeing that I've virtually got no Chinese skills at this point.

Now my questions, finally you may be saying :). How many others have just up and left a professional career in the US to do this type of thing? I understand I won't be working for some time while in Beijing and my software developer skills may be useless anyways compared to similar talent in China. This is something I've thought long and hard about, but so far it's been just that - thought.