Chinese-Forums

Where should I go?

ZhuJiesheng

I know the topic title is a little vague so let me explain...

I'm in my 2nd year at uni in England and I spent my 3rd year in Mainland China. To get an idea of what life would be like I did 2 months over the summer in Beijing at BLCU. Unfortuantely it wasn't quite what I was expecting. The class sizes were bigger than my classes here (which bugged me quite a bit) and the teaching wasn't quite as interactive as I thought it might be (I was hoping for a lot more one-on-one conversations, or at least small group work).

After that I started to look up courses like the CET course in Harbin which sounded great, unfortuantely my uni won't quite allow me to go on a $9,000 a term course >.< After talking to some other chinese students who have been I've found out that classes in mainland China tend to be quite large (20-30 easily from what I've heard).

As my uni has schemes with several unis and academys in China we have to go to one of those (I think we have 80 to chose from but we havn't been given a list yet). Unfortuantely I can't go to Taiwan and as I won't be able to get permission for the more expensive intensive courses (at least the ones I've seen), I was hoping somebody could suggest decent unis with smaller class sizes or at least a decent level or interactive communication. Preferably in somewhere like Beijing, Shaghai, Qingdao etc. I thought of applying ot Harbin Institute of Technology for their normal course but I've heard the social life is a little dull there and I'm not sure if the sacrifice would be worth it ^_^

personally, i wouldnt worry too much about it, you learn alot more chinese in the street or in the pub than you do at university.