Chinese-Forums

Seeking Chinese Courses in Shenzhen

ishani

My wife and I recently relocated to Shenzhen. We are looking for Chinese courses, preferably in the area of Nanshan.

We dont want to to take private lessons, as we rather meet other people, too.

We are also looking for any other interesting courses, but need to be able to support us in English untill we catch up Mandarin.

10X

Ishay

You should buy a copy of the Shenzhen Daily, which you'll find at most newspaper kiosks. It usually has quite a few ads for language training centres. You can also take a look at www.szparty.com for some useful listings. Most are in Shekou, which should be quite close to you.

I studied for one term at Shenzhen University (also in Nanshan) 3 years ago. At the time they only had full-time courses (mostly mornings). If you've got the time and want an intensive start then you could consider that. http://www.szu.edu.cn/szu_en/Inter.htm

I also studied last year at Shenzhen Daily training centre (Shennan Zhong Lu), 2 evenings a week. I thought the course was good but they were having problems getting enough students. If they are running another course it should be advertised in the newspaper.

• 2 weeks later...

Johnd, since you r now in shenzhen, would you please tell me a bit abt this city? I'm planning to go study mandarin there, but i don;t know which school to attend, i'm trying to find out more in this forum but haven't found sufficient info yet. I have an uncle who lives in shenzhen, would it be an advantage when i need to apply for visa or handling any kind of administration if i had my uncle as my guarantor? Thanks b4.