Chinese-Forums

Level A at BLCU?

Lauren88

Hi,

I will be coming to China the first week in December and - at least initially, enrolling in BLCU's 5 week winter course. I've traveled in China before on my own, so I've picked up lots of language odds and ends, but I've never studied formally. I'm assuming I'll be in the lowest level, and I'd really like a head's up about what to expect from anyone who has gone through this class.

Thanks!

- Lauren

If you've only picked up odds and ends of the language, I believe A level will be right for you. Keep in mind that within A level, there are separate levels going from absolute beginner to more advanced beginner. You should expect a lot of character memorization because in order to keep up with the texts, you really need to do your homework. I wasn't in the 5 week course so I'm not sure if it's the exact same but we would learn an average of 15-20 new words a day, plus you are expected to memorize the characters. I found it to be a great program and if you are willing, expect to learn a whole lot!

Don't assume that you will be the lowest. Never discount your efforts. Even if they assess you at the lowest, that doesn't mean their metric is correct and you may well find yourself with a better understanding than others.

I have met many self-learners that don't always fit exactly into the curriculum(and I am one of them as you can tell by my most recent post) . Do your best, make the most of it, and if it is not a good fit, ask yourself why and then tailor your study accordingly.

Good luck.

Unless you need them to get a VISA, don't go to BLCU. If you have even the slightest inclination for self-learning there is a good chance you will hate the BLCU classes.

I just quit going, and have 1 on 1 language tutors and it's way better. For some people, they like the classes.

You will save yourself A LOT of money.