Chinese-Forums

Beijing vs. Kunming

Desmond

A year in Beijing or Kunming  

1. 1. A year in Beijing or Kunming

• Beijing
    • Kunming

My friend and I are planning to go to China this summer. Upon trying to figure out which would be the best place to go, we're narrowed it down to two (distinctly) different places, each of which satisfy different concerns:

I was hoping you guys would be able to shed some light, and some opinions and facts, on the matter.

Studying Mandarin: Although one of my primary goes is to study Mandarin, my friend (as well as 2 other friends who will most likely join us) doesn't not care as much. Beijing seems like it may be better for them, as there is more English, and for me, as it hosts the "root" of Mandarin. But would I be able to learn Mandarin in Kunming as easily as in Beijing? Would the fact that there's more English impede my efforts? I found that when I studied in Hangzhou this summer, although my classtime was fine, I found the Hangzhou accent rather difficult to understand when I went shopping.

Weather: I'm from Canada, and would love to spend a winter away from the snow! Kunming seems like it has one of the nicest climates there is.

Lifestyle: Beijing is bigger, so there's probably more variety of stuff to see and do. But how is Kunming in that aspect? Does Beijing feel to crowded at times? Does Kunming feel too small at times?

Culture: Beijing is probably more metropolitain. So is that a good thing or a bad thing? Does anybody feel, at times, that Beijing is "not Chinese enough?" I know that's a pretty general comment, but I spent a few days in Beijing after being in Hangzhou, and with all the English and foreigners... I just didn't get the same feel. However, that was only 5 days and I was touring.... like just another foreigner. Does Kunming give more of a "real" Chinese experience? Or is it really just what you make of it yourself?

Thanks for your comments! My pull right now is more strongly towards Beijing