Chinese-Forums

Studying Chinese but have never been to China

autumn

I have studied Chinese for two years. First at Polytechnic and am now working towards a BA with a major in Chinese and linguistics.

I have never been to China but despite this fact feel that I am making good progress.

I do not as yet have the funds to get to China and feel that I should graduate first and then go.

I would like to hear from people who first studied Chinese in their native country and then went to China.

How did you find studying Chinese in your home country? Were you dissapointed with your progress before you went to China?

Also are there any native English speakers here who consider themselves conversational in a Chinese dialect other than Mandarin, Cantonese or Shanghainese? How did you go about learning the dialect that you're proficient in?

I don't know about Chinese, but I studied Japanese full-time for 4 years before I went to Japan. When I arrived there I found it was very easy and I was able to make extremely rapid progress. Having learnt it formally and carefully at university meant that I had a very strong basis for coming very rapidly up to speed.

My greatest moment of triumph was soon after arriving in Japan when an American girl who had been studying in Japan for 6 months, after first informing all the Japanese that my English was not 'standard', then admitted that my Japanese was better than hers (which it was by a long shot!)

I studied Chinese for two years before going to China. I had just studied Chinese in the classroom, never really using it on real Chinese. I didn't give much thought about how fast or slow my progress was, I just did my homework and came to class and did ok at that.