Chinese-Forums

need help buying computer bits

ocpaul20

Hi,

I need to buy some computer parts (motherboard, processor, case, PSU, memory, soundcard, videocard, flatscreen?) and I would like to know if there is anyone out there who would like to help me buy them and can also help me put them together. I have watched others doing it but not actually done it myself. I currently have a laptop with chinese XP on it and I really want to get a PC with W2000 and my old 80Gb hard disk in it so I can do stuff. Dont like laptops much.

So, I am looking for someone who might be interested in helping me buy these items in a computer market here in Beijing and fit them into a case please. I am a programmer so I can probably sort out the software side of things I just lack the confidence to do the hardware right first time.

Anyone interested ? If so, please email me at ocpaul20 at yahoo dot co dot uk

Thanks

Paul

Why not ask the market people to put them together for you?

Also since you are a programmer, with some courage I think you can do this on your own. Do your research in this order: pick your cpu, find out its socket type, pick the motherboard that's a best fit for that cpu and provides all the media ports you need. If your cpu doesn't include a heatsink, find one that's rated and tested against your cpu. Then find a case that fits your motherboard's form factor(and looks nice), if the case comes with a power supply make sure it gives enough power for your system. Then read the motherboard manual and pick a compatible memory. There you have all the components you need to get you started on a barebone system. Just remember to buy everything with its original MANUAL. The hardest part is installing the CPU and the heatsink correctly, if you are not confident about that part, I am sure you can ask the vendor to install them for you, provided you bought both from the same vendor. The other components are really easy -- plug and play (read each's installation guide).