Chinese-Forums

Info on learning at Yantai Uni

Caroline

Does anyone know anything about the mandarin course for foreigners at Yantai University? Travellers Worldwide have just started to send English people to it but no-ones done it so far. Also, I have heard it's predominantly Japanese and Korean students who sign up, will this make it harder for me to keep up?

I would be grateful if someone could give me some information as I'm quite in the dark at the moment.

Hi Caroline,

I'm presently a student at Yantai Uni for this semester, so I'm happy to oblige with some info on the courses here.

At present as you suggested the majority of students come form Korea, there are actually very few Japanese students. I'm in the higher level classes as I've been studying for a while. There's me, two French guys, a Japanese guy and the rest of our classmates are Korean. However i,I don't feel this is a disadvantage as at this level my reading is on a par with my Korean classmates if not higher. You don't actually do a lot of writing in class, most of this is done in your homework, you're only taking notes in class.

However from your message I take it you are a begginer? Well, good news, at Yantai uni at least this year they have a special year one class for "ou-mei" students, that is non-Asian students. That class right now has students from Spain, Germany, Canada, the UK and the USA. This way the class is adapted more to meet the learning needs of these students. However, although they have this special class this year, does not necessary mean they will next year, as I imagine this will depend on student numbers.