Chinese-Forums

books for teaching Chinese to adults

goldie

hi, i'm currently teaching beginners Mandarin to adults. i don't have much experience in teaching, this is just an evening class 2 hours a week. i learnt Chinese as a child, having moved their with my parents when i was 3, i attended local primary school until 5th grade and did a degree at univ in Chinese/Japanese. the college where i teach doesn't have any resources specifically for Chinese, i had to choose a book to work from and the best one i could find in the shops was Colloquial Chinese by Kan Qian. i'm starting to feel, having done chapter 1 and 2, that this book actually moves at rather a fast pace and covers a lot of fairly complex grammar for absolute beginners who aren't studying the language intensively. i guess my question is, are any of you also teachers of Chinese? do you teach adults and do you have any good resources you could suggest? i'd like to make contact with other teachers to bounce ideas off and clarify points, especially grammatical points, since i learnt Chinese as a child and can't really explain the grammer.

cheers!!!

If you think Colloquial Chinese by Kan Qian is too stiff, you would have problems in getting something easier (Try "Teach Yourself Chinese" or the other "Colloquial Chinese" (by P.C. T'ung) and you'll see what you mean.)

I'd have thought that having got a degree in Chinese/Japanese as a foreign language would make it easier for you to teach Chinese to adults. Have you ever thought of make up your own teaching programme to taylor to you students need?

Cheers,

I would browse around various university web sites. A lot of them have on line syllabi, which should say what texts they use.

http://www.csulb.edu/~txie/

http://www.columbia.edu/cu/ealac/